The Unpredictability of Glass

I was up very early this morning to remove two of my new Akan bowls from the kiln and get them in the shed to be cleaned and photographed for my forthcoming exhibitions.

Opening the kiln is still an event I always look forward to, when it’s open, that can be a different matter.   The way glass performs with a variety of inclusions within the glass will never cease to amaze me, taking the control out of the artists hands.  You can try to replicate something to the best of your ability, only to find the end result is something totally unexpected.  Same materials, same process, same size, but totally different.  If you compare these two latest bowls with the bowls posted on the 18th May you will see what I mean.

Quite exciting stuff, is glass.

Akan bowls blog

Akan montage octagonalI don’t know which I prefer, do you?

If you would like to see what else comes out of Kevin’s shed visit www.kevinwallhead.co.uk

Leave a comment